Mitchell classification of avascular necrosis

Mitchell classification of avascular necrosis is based on MRI signal characteristics within the center of the lesion on T1 and T2-weighted images.

The lesion is classified into four stages with stage A representing early disease and stage D representing late disease. However, the signal intensity of more than one stage can be found in a single lesion.

  • stage A
    • T1: hyperintense
    • T2: intermediate
    • signal analogous to that of fat
  • stage B
    • T1: hyperintense
    • T2: hyperintense
    • signal analogous to that of subacute blood
  • stage C
    • T1: hypointense
    • T2: hyperintense
    • signal analogous to that of fluid/edema
  • stage D
    • T1: hypointense
    • T2: hypointense
    • signal analogous to that of fibrosis

This classification was described by D G Mitchell et al. in 1987 1.

Share article

Article information

rID: 49669
Tag: cases, cases
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Mitchell classification of AVN
  • Mitchell classification of aseptic necrosis
  • MRI staging of AVN
  • MRI staging of avascular necrosis

Support Radiopaedia and see fewer ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.